People Are People

{A person’s a person, no matter how small}
-Dr. Seuss, Horton Hears a Hoo!

I’ve been taking a course on Special Education this quarter named “Exceptional Children” and it takes a look at special education students through a different lens than what the general society may view them through. It also takes a look from the perspective from those students themselves. As I interact with others in the world around me, I’m learning so much more about people and the biggest realization I’ve made is that people are people, no matter the differences.  As simple of a realization that is, it’s also just as profound and a concept so few people seem to understand. It’s a little shameful for me that it’s taken this long to really learn this statement in my life. The color of their skin, the religion that they believe, the circumstances they grew up them, and the careers that they have should never define how you treat them. People deserve to be accepted, loved, and respected. The way you treat  and view people with different communication or learning abilities should be no different either. I stumbled across this post from “That Cynking Feeling” and absolutely loved it and the truth it proclaims. Click on the link below to read it yourself:

Please Don’t Cheer For My Son

What do you think? :)

