Staple & Fancy: Seattle

First of all, I’m sorry for this late, late post. And secondly, I also apologize for the quality of the photos in this post. It was dark in the restaurant and I didn’t have my DSLR with me.

Sean had been wanting to visit Staple & Fancy for so long and we’ve had to deal with him talking about it for months so when restaurant week came around (which was back in April), weย gladly booked a reservation to go. We had a dinner reservation for 8pm and were seated quite promptly upon arrival. The feel of the restaurant was very much Ballard-esque. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Ballard,ย it very much has a defining features of Seattle. It’s trendy, it’s hip, and bears a folk-sy vibe. Staple & Fancy is a rustic, Italian-inspired restaurant, with a comfortable ambiance. With wood finishing and dim lights, it’s definitely a busy restaurant, especially during restaurant week.

I thought it was pretty neat that in their restaurant week menu, they brought all four appetizer options out to you so you could try a bit of everything. Of course, the portions were proportionate to the number of people in your party.

Appetizers:ย 
Fried Risotto balls with cheese
Grilled Sardine
Ricotta Cheese + Peas and Bread
Baby Kale Salad

I can’t remember the exact menu and don’t have photos of all the appetizers, but I do remember that the baby kale salad was absolutely delicious!

The main courses were a nettle pesto, lamb ragu gnocchi, hanger steak with mashed potatoes, and a grilled mackerel with fried cauliflower. The four of us each ordered one of the entrees and had a chance to taste everything. I ordered the nettle pesto which was delicious. With a strong taste of pine nuts, it definitely satisfied my stomach.

For dessert, I got the flourless chocolate cake and everyone else ordered the Meyer lemon pudding cake . As much as I really do love lemon, I’m always weak when it comes to chocolate. They both were delicious. I heard so much raving over the pudding cake so if you’re not a slave to chocolate like me, go for the Meyer lemon pudding cake!

At the end of our meal, they gave us each a bag of freshly made complimentary Ethan Stowell pasta!
IMG_3435w
2 thoughts on “Staple & Fancy: Seattle

  1. My wife and I absolutely LOVE Staple and Fancy! You should definitely go back to experience the full “Fancy menu” if you have not done so already, it’s always a delicious experience.

What do you think? :)

