His Perfect Rest

Time and time again, the Lord graciously allows me to learn of the rest I can enjoy in His presence. Last week was probably one of the busiest weeks I have ever experienced in my entire life, if not the busiest. Somewhere between work, classes, schoolwork, club work, volunteering, and other obligations, I completely drained myself of all energy. By the end of the week, I was so tired and stressed out, I could see it affecting those around me. My emotions were running wild and in the end, I could nothing else but give everything up to the Lord. T On Friday, we sang “In Christ Alone” and as I sang, I was brought to tears. All the week’s trials and burdens were let go of and the realization that Christ is that solid ground and foundation in which I am grounded in was more than I could handle.  It didn’t matter how great the tribulation I faced in my life was because Christ is my hope and in Him, I find peace. My fears are still and all striving ceases. The moment I gave up all that was weighing me down to the Lord, a sense of complete rest came over me.

In Christ alone my hope is found,
He is my light, my strength, my song;
this Cornerstone, this solid Ground,
firm through the fiercest drought and storm.
What heights of love, what depths of peace,
when fears are stilled, when strivings cease!
My Comforter, my All in All,
here in the love of Christ I stand.

Take a listen: In Christ Alone

In our college core group meetings, we’ve been reading “Absolute Surrender” by Andrew Murray together. After we had fellowship upon the “Deep Restfulness” portion, I truly learned and experience even more of this rest shortly thereafter. So often in my life, I put so much effort and struggle to work love the Lord more or obey Him more, yet it just makes me so tired in the end because I’m relying so much on myself. I’m not depending on Him and resting in His ability to accomplish the work through me. I love this passage from the reading:

“Worker, take your place every day at the feet of Jesus, in the blessed peace and rest that come from the knowledge —

I have no care, my cares are His!
I have no fear, He cares for all my fears.

Come, children of God, and understand that it is the Lord Jesus who wants to work through you. You complain of the want of fervent love. It will come from Jesus. He will give the divine love in your heart with which you can love people. That is the meaning of the assurance: “The love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Spirit”; and of that other word: “The love of Christ constraineth us.” Christ can give you a fountain of love, so that you cannot help loving the most wretched and the most ungrateful, or those who have wearied you hitherto. “

[Absolute Surrender-Andrew Murray]

Praying to always completely rest in the Lord, trusting in His nature and always constrained by His love.

What do you think? :)

