Give Me Jesus

{You can have all this world but give me Jesus.}

This is going to be a long one, so bear with me.

I’ve really been struggling as of late with my direction in life and my purpose in school. I always joke that I’ve been born with a strong will, an ambitious streak, and a dreamer’s heart. For as long as I can remember, I’ve dreamed of accomplishing large feats and traveling the world while making a difference. I’ve always wanted to change the world. And if I couldn’t do something on that large of a scale, at least I could be successful and have the means to help others.

As I’m entering my last half of my last quarter of my second year in college, the struggle between what I think what I want for my life versus what the Lord has in store for me has greatly increased. It’s so easy to lose sight of the purpose of our lives, of the reason we go to school and of the reason we have careers. At bible study last week, the topic for the week came at the perfect time as the topic was “Friendships and Occupations”. It was such a good reminder of my career not being for myself but for the glory of God and His kingdom.  While a good reminder, it didn’t help any less with the struggle in my heart. If anything, it just made things harder because I knew with clarity how I should view the matter but I didn’t want to let go of my ambitions.

This post isn’t about me successfully letting go of my ambitions and the things that I want but to share how the Lord is slowly working to help me let go.  All around me, my friends are finding internships and positions for the upcoming summer. Everyone around me seems to be making large strides in their careers and I’m struggling to be content with the career path I have chosen, or rather the career path I feel like the Lord has planned for me. When I’m surrounded with brothers and sisters, it’s often easier to remember my goal isn’t to become successful in the world’s eyes with a glamorous life filled with nice cars, large houses, and huge closets but rather I am striving to be living for Christ, to live a life full of His abundant life which is more worth more than the world could ever offer me. But being in college, it’s extremely difficult to keep my eyes on the Lord, know this in my heart, and live it out in my life. Everyone around me is in college with an expectation of doing something great with degree. With the popularity of entrepreneurship and everyone creating a start-up while still just in undergrad, it’s hard not to be caught up in all that.  Sometimes it’s even more difficult when I see what the world would deem as successful brothers and sisters in fields the Lord hasn’t portioned out for me. But I know God has the best in store for me and if I go where He leads, I will be blessed beyond anywhere I could lead myself to. I need to learn to trust this and place my purpose in Him, not in myself or the world. My friend kindly directed me back to God’s word and I have a feeling I’ll be coming back to these verses for awhile. If you get a chance, I encourage you to read through Proverbs 16:1-9. Two verses in particular really stood out to me:

Commit your works to the Lord
And your plans will be established.
{vs 3}

The mind of man plans his way, 
But the Lord directs his steps.
{vs 9}

 As I struggled in tears throughout today, there were two songs that kept coming back through my mind and I really ask that the Lord would make these lyrics a reality in my life.  I’ll just leave them here for you to meditate on with me.

Give me Jesus
{written by: Fernando Ortega}

In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise
Refrain:
Give me Jesus.
Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus.
You can have all this world,
Just give me Jesus.
When I am alone,
When I am alone,
When I am alone,
Give me Jesus.
When I come to die,
When I come to die,
When I come to die,
Give me Jesus.
Favorite Arrangements:
Sara Watkins: Give Me Jesus
Matt Stinton & Bethel Music: Give Me Jesus
Fernando Ortega: Give Me Jesus

I’d rather have Jesus
{written by: Rhea F. Miller}

I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold,
I’d rather be His than have riches untold;
I’d rather have Jesus than houses or land,
Yes, I’d rather be led by His nail-pierced hand.

Than to be the king of a vast domain
And be held in sin’s dread sway
I’d rather have Jesus than anything
This world affords today.

I’d rather have Jesus than worldly applause,
I’d rather be faithful to His dear cause;
I’d rather have Jesus than worldwide fame,
I’d rather be true to His holy name.

Favorite arrangements:
The Hymn Project: I’d Rather Have Jesus

2 thoughts on “Give Me Jesus

  1. Thank you so much for your sharing and encouragement. It truly is a comfort in knowing that this struggle is not exclusive. Even to those of us who might (on the surface) appear to have our own futures planned and compartmentalized into boxes of our own creation, that is rarely the case. The Lord works in his own mysterious way, infinitely greater than our own.

    So thank you again for encouragement and I hope that I can take this time to reciprocate it.

    Remember that the struggles we undergo are all meant to draw us closer to Him. And over time, we can see our faith, our trust, and our life continue to grow under the guidance of our Lord.

    **Jeremiah 29:11-13 (Darby)

    11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith Jehovah, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you in your latter end a hope.

    12 And ye shall call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you;

    13 and ye shall seek me and find me, for ye shall search for me with all your heart,

    **NIV version is actually okay, but this statement only applies to Jeremiah 29:11-13. No guarantees for other scripture.

    So keep striving for Him. Continually enthrone Him within your heart as King and Master. Do not fret about tomorrow for Our Lord, Jehovah-jireh, shall provide. Remain strong, by His strength.

    • Matthew,

      Thank you so much for your words of encouragement! It is always so edifying to be able to fellowship with brothers and sisters in the Lord, no matter where we are from. May the Lord bless you for your kind words!

What do you think? :)

