Crispy Kale Chips

I’ve loved kale for awhile now since my mom used to cook it for dinner and the first time I had kale chips, I was smitten. I’ve been meaning to make my own but I just kept forgetting and being lazy even though kale chips are almost the easiest things I’ve ever made with only three ingredients. I made them in the morning before class, brought them with me as a snack, and share the kale love at the office. Even one of my coworkers, who isn’t a huge fan of vegetables, found them delicious! Crispy and light, these are perfect for an easy on-the-go healthy snack, a potluck appetizer, a house-warming gift, or part of your summer picnic meal! Ingredients: Kale Olive Oil Salt Step 1. Preheat your oven to 350°. IMG_3478eStep 2. Wash your kale thoroughly whichcan be tricky since they’re so incredibly curly. Pat and dry them with either a clean dish towel or a paper towel and make them as dry as you possibly can without bruising the leaves.

Step 3. Cut the middle main stem out of each leaf since that part of the plant is extremely bitter. Then cut the rest of the leaves into small 1 to 2 inch pieces. Don’t worry if they aren’t all the same size. IMG_3481e Step 4.  Place all the cut leaves in a bowl and mix with olive oil. It will probably take about a table spoon for a medium bunch. Make sure every part of each leaf is covered which means you’ll most likely need to use your hands to unfold and cover all the curly edges. Sprinkle salt over the leaf pieces, this might be easier with a shaker to ensure even dispersal. Be careful not to oversalt them!

IMG_3482e Step 5. Place the pieces flat on a foil or wax lined pan and bake in the oven for about 6-8 minutes. Be sure to watch the oven since these can burn really easily. I found that my best kale chips baked for about 7 minutes but this could vary depending on your oven. IMG_3483e Step 6. Remove from oven and let them cool for 5 minutes. Ta-da! The delectable kale chips are ready for your consumption! Try these kale chips out and be sure to let me know how they turn out!

What do you think? :)

