To the South We Go: the people we meet

I promptly packed up my bags and hopped on a plane to Houston the day after my last final. After a long struggle with traffic, we arrived at the airport, experienced issues with the jetwalk, and finally went on our way to Houston. I have a bad habit of falling asleep before takeoff and this time, I was sure I’d make it through awake because I was fully awake when the plane started moving, but sure enough, I found myself waking after we were already flying through the air. I woke up just in time to see these mountains though:

Image

There was only two out of three seats that were filled in my row so it was a very comfortable flight. The girl I sat with (I never caught a name) and I shared some really interesting conversation. She’s completed three years at Brown University, took two years off to work in England and South Africa, is currently taking some credits at UW, and will be heading back to Brown to graduate next year. She majored in Ethnic and Cultural Studies and absolutely loves traveling. She shared some advice with me concerning traveling and where to work. It went something along the lines of “Travel to a lot of different types of places and find where you can thrive best” as well as “Sometimes you don’t need a reason to go somewhere, just an inclination. Go because you want to go”. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to travel the world like I want to in the near future.

What do you think? :)

