Trusting in the Character of God

It’s been a long time since I’ve written a post, partially because life got busy and partially because I’ve walked a far distance from the Lord since summer. Fall quarter came and went as I drifted further and further in my walk, consciously. But the Lord is faithful and has been working to revive my life in Him.

I recently downloaded a bunch of messages from Mars Hill and have been listening to them as I walk to school, ride the bus to volunteer, and as I get ready in the mornings. I started the “Redeeming Ruth” series last week but haven’t gotten a chance to share about it until now. I absolutely love the book of Ruth but I appreciated the new light Pastor Mark Driscoll shed on her faith. I love that she simply trusts in the character of God. And I use the word simple, because it should be just that. Faith and trust go hand in hand. To have faith in the Lord means that you should trust Him as well. Growing up in the church, I’ve always “known” the character of God but how much have I truly trusted it? I love that Mark Driscoll differentiates Ruth and Moses in that Ruth never heard from the Lord directly but knowing His character, she left everything in her hometown and everything she knew to follow Naomi back to Bethlehem, to God’s people.

“…And see what it might be like to just trust the Lord and walk in faith. Ruth is a woman who just trusts in the character of God. She says, ‘You know what, God is sovereign, God is good. I trust Him, we’ll see what happens. I’m going to keep going’. She’s not foolish but she’s faithful.

What do you think? :)

