Am I set on my own way for God?

“Whenever we stand on our own dignity we systematically vex and grieve His Spirit; and when the knowledge comes home that it is Jesus whom we have been persecuting all the time, it is the most crushing revelation there could be.”

“All I ought to be founded on a perfect oneness with Him, not on a self willed determination to be godly. This will mean that I can be easily put upon, easily over-reaches, easily ignored; but if I submit to it for His sake, I prevent Jesus Christ from being persecuted.”

“Am I set on my own way for God?”

The Lord doesn’t need me to make my will help His. If I am so set in doing what I think is His work buy I don’t allow Him to take full control and work, I am persecuting Jesus. In our lives, especially in my service, it is so easy to become caught up and passionate about the task. But if I don’t step back and allow God to truly be God, my service is useless to Him. Rather than striving to be godly, Chambers reminds us that we ought to have perfect oneness with Him. If we are one with the Lord, then we will know what he enjoys and what hurts Him. We will know His will and how He wants us to carry it out rather than relying on our own strength. And most of the time, God’s way is quite different and opposite of man’s way resulting in possible uncomfortable feelings from the flesh. But as Paul wrote, “but whatever things were gain to me, those things I have counted as loss for the sake of Christ. More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of whom I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish so that I may gain Christ.” (Philippians 3:8-9)

What do you think? :)

