Your Will Done Your Way

“Every time we have gone back in spiritual communion it has been because we have impertinently known better than Jesus Christ. We have allowed the cares of the world to come in. We have forgotten the “much more” of our Heavenly Father.”

“Consecration means the continual separating of myself to one particular thing. We cannot consecrate once and for all. Am I Continually separating myself to consider God every day of my life?”

“‘Consider the lilies of the field’ — they grow where they are put. Many of us refuse to grow where we are put, consequently we take root nowhere.”
[Oswald Chambers]

So many good words in this morning’s devotion. So often, we forget the “much more” that God wants to give us and settle for the lesser. In my in life, I’ve been guilty of looking at my surroundings and blaming them for the lack of growth in my walk when in reality, God places us where we are for a reason. I had to go through some hard lessons to really learn why God’s placed me where I am in my life and how I can serve Him and grow here. I definitely was guilty of refusing to set roots where I was for awhile. I see “taking root” as making commitments and I was half in/half out for a long time but by His grace, He’s been revealing to me different purposes for me being here.

Consecration is something I’ve learned about and heard about since a young age. Growing up in the church, these terms are thrown around but when they become reality in your life, it’s something different. I am learning to give up the different parts of my life on a daily basis or even a moment by moment basis. Even yesterday as I was driving, I felt convicted to consecrate a part of my life to Him again. I was listening “Broken Bread” by Rend Collective Experiment this morning and the lyrics say “Your will done Your will”. So often we tell the Lord “Your will done my way”. But I truly pray that His will would be done His way in His time.

“Spend my life Jesus, anyways You please
Whether on great things, or what seems small”
[Broken Bread-Rend Collective Experiment]

What do you think? :)

