Determined to look for Jesus

“For I am determined to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified.” [1 Corinthians 2:2]

Yesterday morning’s devotion emphasized on our personal relationship with the Lord. There is nothing else in this world that matters except Jesus Christ. “Paul was devoted to a Person not a cause”. Sometimes it’s so easy to forget who we’re serving in our service. We get so caught up and focused in on the actions that we forget we’re serving Jesus. I want my prayer to be that I truly look for nothing else in this world save that Jesus Christ and Him crucified.

“Keep your life so constant in its contact with God that His surprising power may break out on the right hand and on the left. Always be in a state of expectancy and see that you leave room for God to come in as He likes.” -Oswald Chambers

The devotional this morning seemed simple enough, to expect God even in the unexpected. But of course,  I went on with my day forgetting to expect Him. I had a dental appointment this afternoon and I really loathe going to the dentist. I really do not enjoy being poked around in the mouth having more sensitive gums or what not and the hygienist I always have isn’t the most gentle. I always leave the dental office feeling discouraged about brushing my teeth even though I usually don’t have cavities. When I arrived at the office today, my heart sank a bit as the hygienist came out to get me and it was the same person. But today, she suddenly was much gentler and decided to use a different tip because she remembered the sensitivity of my gums. She even praised my teeth brushing and complimented on how nice my teeth were this time. The entire appointment and cleaning today went so smoothly, I was in a bit of a shock the entire time.  Not until the very last few minutes of my cleaning did the thought occur to me, “Did someone pray for me and my dental appointment today? Because I most certainly didn’t and there is no way it could have gone this smoothly without prayer!” And a little bit later I found out that, sure enough, there had been a prayer sent up to God for me. In something that I had not expected to see God in, He managed to come and take control of the situation.

Humbled yet again by the way He works.

What do you think? :)

