Do You Walk in White?

I’ve started devotionals using “My Utmost for His Highest” and think it’d be a good idea to maybe share but also to keep myself accountable by writing about them.  This morning, I’m sitting in my sleeping bag at camp, preparing for the start of the very last week of DayCamp.

Romans 6:4

This devotional speaks of the importance of the the death of our old selves. The complete and true death where our old self is buried and we are resurrected only with the life of Christ. Until we come to such an end, we can not truly live this life of Christ. “Do you agree with God that you stop being the striving, earnest kind of Christian you have been?” This question struck me because you have to come to the realization that God isn’t looking for the earnest striving Christian, He’s really looking for the Christians with Christ’s life overflowing from their lives. Looking in my own life, I’m not sure if I have had this “white funeral” where I’ve consciously decided to put my self life to death completely. I definitely have put part of it down but all of it? Probably not. Today’s devotional ended with “The moment of agreement depends on you” further showing that God will never force this upon you, it is a decision you make. I have to consciously make this decision for myself.

What do you think? :)

