Now here is also nowhere.

I was walking to class and passed by the Henry Art Gallery which was featuring the installation “Now here is also nowhere”. It was there for a period of time and I read it every time I walked by. This quote really stuck with me and made me reflect upon the words.

When I was younger, I always thought about where I was going to be in the future and what I would be doing with my life. I thought college couldn’t come faster because when I was in college, I’d have my life all figured out and set. I’d have a steady relationship with the guy I was going to marry; I’d be excelling in my classes; I’d know exactly what I was going to do for a career; I would have time to establish new friendships and nurture the old ones; I’d be living the life I always imagined. But now that I’m here, I haven’t done any of those things, at least not the extent I thought I would. I have an idea of what I want to do with my life but I don’t know how I’m going to be able to achieve my goals with my personal life plans. I don’t have time to see friends that live a 10 min walk on campus, let alone make new friends. I’m struggling with motivation in chemistry to do well because it is too difficult for me, I’m just bad at it. I’ve gotten myself entangled in things I shouldn’t even be around and I don’t know where “here” is supposed to be. “Wherever you go, there you are” is a phrase that has stuck with me since 9th grade English. You can’t predict the future because whatever happens in this point in time, happens.

So where am I? Slightly lost but finding my way.
And by God’s grace, He’ll lead me to where I’m supposed to be.

 

What do you think? :)

